Enjoy some Mayhem & Magic!

Our blog is meant to evoke fun with the magic of myths, folklore, movies and the mayhem of murder and madness. We have to keep it interesting so if you like different genres of movies and books then you're at the right blog. Our authors are a wide range of experts and our readers know what is top of the line in their favorite genres. Sometimes we post recipes that might be fun to try if a culinary author has one in her book that we think is especially yummy or one that Terri and I have created and want to share with you. Enjoy Guest Blogger Alice Duncan's monthly muse on her books and writing mysteries.

Plus you won't want to miss our book reviews, author interviews or our guest bloggers. So grab your favorite beverage then join us for some magic and mayhem! The good news is that you don't have to leave the house or your comfy chair. We have something for everyone's taste and every month we have a different topic for our bloggers: ones we feel that might be useful in your own writing and reader points of view. Not to mention, life in general. So join us and be sure to have a notebook handy as your to-be-read pile will grow as you add books, recipes, movies and t.v. series you won't want to miss. Not to mention folktales, myths or ideas you may wish to explore. Be careful what you wish for because on mayhemandmagic2 you just might find it.

Friday, June 19, 2009

2008 Bram Stoker Awards

Superior Achievement in a NOVEL- DUMA KEY by Stephen King (Scribner)

Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL- THE GENTLING BOX by Lisa Mannetti (Dark Hart Press)

Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION - MIRANDA by John R. Little (Bad Moon Books)

Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION - THE LOST by SARAH Langan (Cemetery Dance chapbook)

Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY - UNSPEAKABLE HORROR by Vince A. Liaguno and Chad Helder (Dark Scribe Press)

Superior Achievement in a COLLECTION - JUST AFTER SUNSET by Stephen King (Scribner)

Superior Achievement in NONFICTION - A HALLOWE'EN ANTHOLOGY by Lisa Morton (McFarland)

Superior Achievement in POETRY - THE NIGHTMARE COLLECTION by Bruce Boston (Dark Regions Press)

The trophy, which resembles a miniature haunted house, was designed by author Harlan Ellison and sculptor Steven Kirk.

HWA also presented its annual Lifetime Achievement Awards and its Specialty Press Award. F. Paul Wilson and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, who both received Lifetime Achievement Awards this year, were on hand to accept.

The Specialty Press Award went to Larry Roberts of Bloodletting Press.

The Silver Hammer Award, for outstanding service to HWA, was voted by the organization’s board of trustees to Sephera Giron.

The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award was given to John R. Little

1 comment:

  1. I haven't read any of these yet. To on the TBR list they go...