Wednesday, March 27, 2013

A Mystery Series for Women's History Month

March is of course, Women's History Month.  A Time to celebrate amazing women throughout the ages and how they changed the world we live in.  In Seneca Falls, NY soon after the end of the Civil War, amazing women decided the time to change women's lives and their rights had come and a movement was born.  This little town has become an important place in women's history.I encourage everyone to read and learn about this powerful movement:

Read their Declaration of Sentiments and look at it through today's eyes:

One of my favorite mystery series is the Seneca Falls Series by Miriam Grace Monfredo

From Berkley Prime Crime:

Miriam Grace Monfredo

Miriam Grace Monfredo is a former librarian and a historian. Living in the small town of Seneca Falls on the eve of the Civil War, independent librarian-sleuth, Glynis Tyron is an advocate for women and slave rights. But in the midst of her fight for justice she can’t seem to stop enmeshing herself in murder.

Children of Cain, August 2003
Brothers of Cain, September 2002
Sisters of Cain, August 2001
Must the Maiden Die, August 2000
The Stalking-horse, January 1999
Through a Gold Eagle, July 1997
Blackwater Spirits, June 1996
North Star Conspiracy, May 1995
Seneca Falls Inheritance, October 1994

Unfortunately the books are out of print, but used copies are availabel on amazon.  And of course, you can always check with your local library.

The major players of the movement and the convention are integrals to the stories and IMHO it weaves history and mystery together for wonderful tales.


1 comment:

  1. What a timely piece. Plus you have introduced a lot of readers to an author they may not have heard of or forgotten about.....


Review: Buried in a Bog by Sheila Connolly

Before her grandmother dies, Maura promises her that she will go to Ireland where she was from. She goes to see a woman that was friends...